LGBT Month

Looks at issues concerning sexuality and religion in nine of the world's religions, including Daoism, Hinduism, Judaism, and Catholicism, covering such topics as sexual orientation, reproductive rights, and sexual rituals.

Whether you're personally impacted by homosexuality or simply concerned about this controversial issue...you'll be informed and challenged by these 101 thoughtful questions and answers.

This set chronicles important historical events from around the world that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of gays, lesbians, bisexuals, queers and transsexual, transgender, intersex, and asexual persons.

Offers advice on how gay men can overcome their deep-seated feelings of shame, which is often associated with their earliest childhood experiences and the ambivalent relationship they have with their own father

Details the history of homosexuality in the United States, focusing on its political and cultural relationships with society, and on American history with respect to queer theory.

Issues explored in this title include the role of non-traditional same-sex families, and expanded protections for transgender people under the framework of civil rights.

Author Chuck Stewart traces the evolution of LGBT issues as part of our nation’s shared cultural past and modern-day experience. Volume 1 focuses on the origins of the movement with the founding of Jamestown in 1607 through the 1970s and the beginning of gay rights activism in the United States. Volume 2 spans the 1980s and the AIDs pandemic through the present-day issues of marriage equality. Volume 3 gives a concise review of this society in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

A collection of articles explores the role of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered persons in shaping American popular culture from the late 1800s to the present.

This collection of essays exposes readers to both sides of the debate. Topics include whether gay parenting puts children at risk, whether gay adoption should be accepted, and how society needs to support gay families through acceptance for the betterment of itself.

This anthology focuses on gender itself-how gender operates socioculturally, exists, functions, and is presented in micro and macro interactions. This cutting-edge book focuses on both hegemonic and transgressive gender development, roles, identities, and practices.

This book assesses the connections between gender, psychology, culture and sexuality, and reveals how individual and social attitudes have evolved over the centuries

Suicide is currently the second leading cause of death among college students in the United States. This complex issue on college campuses is often overlooked, and this book combines the efforts from several leaders in the field of suicidology in an attempt to grasp a better understanding of college student suicide.

Offers opposing insights on whether or not LGBTQ rights are threatened and also whether their rights threaten others.

Jason Cianciotto and Sean Cahill, experts on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender public policy advocacy, combine an accessible review of social science research with analyses of school practices and local, state, and federal laws that affect LGBT students. In addition, portraits of LGBT youth and their experiences with discrimination at school bring human faces to the issues the authors discuss.

This collection of critical essays on LGBTQ literature features an overview of the genre and critical readings of selected works and authors.

In this interdisciplinary volume, contributors analyze the expression of Latina/o cultural identity through performance. With music, theater, dance, visual arts, body art, spoken word, performance activism, fashion, and street theater as points of entry, contributors discuss cultural practices and the fashoning of identity in Latino/a communities throughout the US.

The essays collected here will help first-time readers, teachers, and advanced scholars gain new insight into Joyce's semi-autobiographical story of an Irish boy's slow and difficult discovery of his artistic vocation. The epitome of the modernist Bildungsroman, or novel of education, Joyce's novel was controversial from the moment of its publication in 1916, and Mark Wollaeger's introduction provides an overview of the composition and early reception of A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man as well as a survey of some of the recurrent issues debated by literary critics.

Keith Clark's forceful collection illustrates how African-American male novelists and playwrights have absorbed, challenged, and expanded the conventions of black American writing and, with it, black male identity.

This book features a comprehensive reading list of women/nonbinary/transgender writers of color.

Best-known for her work A Raisin in the Sun, Hansberry had an unflinching commitment to social justice which brought her under FBI surveillance when she was barely in her twenties. Hansberry associated with many activists, writers, and musicians; though she married a man, she identified as a lesbian. Perry provides insights into Hansberry's life and writings, and shows how her political activism is reflected in her works.

Literary historian and Lamba Award-winning novelist Harlan Greene has created a portrait of a nearly forgotten southern writer, unearthing information from archives, rare books, film libraries,and small-town newspapers. Greene brings Harry Hervey (1900-1951) to life and explicates his works to reveal him as a hardworking writer and master of many genres, bravely unwilling to conform to conventional values.

A remarkable first novel by a young, gay, black author who fashioned a deeply moving and compelling coming of age story out of the highly controversial issues of bisexuality and AIDS.

The definitive history of the successful battle to halt the AIDS epidemic, and the powerful, heroic stories of the gay activists who refused to die without a fight.

The search for a "Patient Zero"--Popularly understood to be an epidemic's first infected case--has been key to media coverage of major infectious disease outbreaks for more than three decades. Yet the term itself did not exist before the emergence of the HIV/AIDS epidemic in the 1980s. How did this idea so swiftly exert a strong grip on the popular consciousness? In Patient Zero and the Making of the AIDS Epidemic, Richard A. McKay demonstrates how this seemingly new concept drew upon centuries-old ideas--and fears--about contagion and social disorder.

Part of the "Critical Insights" series, this volume will be a useful resource for those studying censorship or rhetorical devices. Evans (Auburn Univ., Montgomery) begins with an interview with Alan Gribben about the sanitized Huckleberry Finn brouhaha. This interview introduces themes and triggers that are addressed in various of the contributions that follow, which consider titles ranging from Mankind (a 15th-century morality play) to Alison Bechtel's Fun Home, a 21st-century gay graphic memoir.