Burgess Library: Holocaust: Genocide and Human Rights

More Genocides

Genocide Watch
Genocide Watch exists to predict, prevent, stop, and punish genocide and other forms of mass murder. Our purpose is to build an international movement to prevent and stop genocide.
Human Rights Project
An exploratory research and action initiative at Bard College. Through teaching, public programs, research, and engagement with communities in the region and globally, the Project aims at once to foster critical discussions of human rights theory and practice, and to engage with practitioners on the leading edges of human rights research.
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
From the US Department of State - The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, also known as the Human Rights Reports, cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements.
International Center for Transitional Justice
We work side by side with victims to obtain acknowledgment and redress for massive human rights violations, hold those responsible to account, reform and build democratic institutions, and prevent the recurrence of violence or repression.
International Institute for Human Rights
The Institute works for the promotion and protection of human rights through training and research to contribute to the advancement of research in the field of Human Rights,
International Justice Resource Center
Informs, trains, and advises advocates and individual victims on using international and regional human rights protections to advance justice and accountability in their communities.
Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence
The Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence (OEMV) is a regularly updated electronic database focusing on massacres and genocides of the 20th century
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch investigates and reports on abuses happening in all corners of the world. We are roughly 550 plus people of 70-plus nationalities who are country experts, lawyers, journalists, and others who work to protect the most at risk, from vulnerable minorities and civilians in wartime, to refugees and children in need. To ensure our independence, we refuse government funding and carefully review all donations to ensure that they are consistent with our policies, mission, and values. We partner with organizations large and small across the globe to protect embattled activists and to help hold abusers to account and bring justice to victims.
Universal Declaration of Human Rights
A document drafted by representatives with different legal and cultural backgrounds from all regions of the world, the Declaration was proclaimed by the United Nations General Assembly in Paris on 10 December 1948 (General Assembly resolution 217 A) as a common standard of achievements for all peoples and all nations. It sets out, for the first time, fundamental human rights to be universally protected and it has been translated into over 500 languages.
Visual History Archive Online
An online portal from USC Shoah Foundation that allows users to search through and view nearly 52,000 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides.

American Indian Genocide Museum
A new institution, the purpose of this museum is to bring historical truth to light through the means of education using actual documentation of events that have transpired in the near extermination, and in some cases, the total extermination of native tribes and cultures. It is a memorial to the victims of ethnic cleansing.
Canadian Museum for Human Rigths
Located in Winnipeg, Manitoba, the Canadian Museum for Human Rights is the first museum solely dedicated to the evolution, celebration and future of human rights.
Genocide and Resistance Research Centre of Lithuania
The museum is situated in the former KGB building, where the crimes of the Soviet regime were planned and executed for fifty years.
Museum of Human Rights Freedom and Tolerance
The Museum’s vision and philosophy are built upon the premise that human rights, freedom, and tolerance are the truly unbreakable foundations of human existence and continuity and that, in reality, one cannot exist without the others.

Amnesty International
Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 10 million people in over 150 countries and territories who campaign to end abuses of human rights.
Center for Justice and Accountability
The Center for Justice and Accountability identifies and prosecutes the world’s worst human rights criminals.
The Enough Project
The Enough Project supports peace and an end to mass atrocities in Africa’s deadliest conflict zones. Together with its investigative partner, The Sentry, Enough counters armed groups, violent kleptocratic regimes, and their commercial partners that are sustained and enriched by corruption, criminal activity, and the trafficking of natural resources. By helping to create consequences for the major perpetrators and facilitators of atrocities and corruption, Enough seeks to build leverage in support of peace and good governance.
Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe.
Addresses a wide range of security-related concerns, including arms control, confidence- and security-building measures, human rights, national minorities, democratization, policing strategies, counter-terrorism and economic and environmental activities.
World Without Genocide
World Without Genocide works to protect innocent people around the world; prevent genocide by combating racism and prejudice; advocate for the prosecution of perpetrators; and remember those whose lives and cultures have been destroyed by violence.

Genocides take place across time and across countries. The places below lead to websites containing summaries, timelines, and other well researched information. Be aware this includes photos of the atrocities.

Transatlantic Slave Trade

Mao's Great Famine

Take the name of the genocide from the list (see tab to the left of this one) and add the work genocide. For example:

darfur genocide

EXEPTIONS: For Rape of Nanking, Transatlantic Slave Trade, and Mao's Great Famine, type in those phrases as is

Art Full Text
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Credo Reference
Provides cross-searchable access to over three million entries from 273 titles and 57 publishers. Features full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject.
Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection includes archival and historical films from multiple sources.
Gale One File: News
Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives
History Reference Center
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
World History in Context
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Provides content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.