Burgess Library: Black History Month: Databases

Books, Magazines, Maps, Photos, ETC

African-American History This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It allows users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together.! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.
Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection includes archival and historical films from multiple sources.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
HeinOnline Social Justice Suite This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Social Justice Suite has more than 3,200 scholarly journals that examine more than a thousand topics, all dating back to the first issue ever published. Topics in this collection include: Civil Rights and Social Justice, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, LGBTQ+ Rights, Open Society Justice Initiative, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law.