True Crime

The library is a treasure trove for true crime enthusiasts. Beyond the thrilling narratives, you'll find insightful books on specific cases, criminal psychology, and even the legal system. Librarians are your secret weapon, guiding you to the perfect resources based on your interests. Want to delve into a famous case? They've got you covered. Curious about a specific crime type? No problem. They can even point you towards online databases with historical records, news archives, and academic journals.

Tips and Tricks for Research

1. Use Reliable Sources: Start with trusted resources like academic databases, scholarly journals, books, and reputable websites. Burgess Library provides you with access to over 130 academic databases.
2. Search Across Multiple Databases: Different databases offer distinct resources. Consider searching across various platforms to obtain comprehensive results.
3. Refine Your Search: Use filters or advanced search options in databases to narrow down results by date, author, publication type, or other relevant criteria.
4. Boolean Operators: Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to connect your keywords effectively. For instance, using "literature AND criticism" narrows down results, while "literature OR fiction" broadens the search.
5. Use Quotation Marks: Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases. For example, "climate change" will specifically look for that phrase.
6. Limiters and Filters: Utilize limiters provided by the database, such as date range, document type, language, or peer-reviewed sources to refine your search results.
7. Take Notes: Keep track of useful information, quotes, and citations. Organize your notes to ensure you can easily refer back to them during writing.
8. Stay Organized: Use tools like citation managers, folders, or software to organize your research materials and citations efficiently.
9. Ask for Help: Schedule an appointment with a librarian to get help with your research.