Burgess Library: Holiday Season: Kwanzaa

History of Kwanzaa

Kwanzaa is a cultural celebration observed by many African Americans. It was created in 1966 by Dr. Maulana Karenga to honor African heritage and culture.

Kwanzaa is celebrated from December 26th to January 1st. It focuses on seven principles (Nguzo Saba):

Umoja (Unity): Stresses the importance of building and maintaining unity in the family, community, nation, and race.
Kujichagulia (Self-Determination): Emphasizes the importance of defining oneself, naming oneself, and creating for oneself.
Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility): Involves building and maintaining your community together.
Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics): Building and maintaining your own stores, shops, and other businesses and owning them.
Nia (Purpose): Committing yourself to the collective good.
Kuumba (Creativity): Doing always as much as you can, dealing with the conditions as they exist, and making them better.
Imani (Faith): Believing in yourself, your people, your parents, your teachers, your leaders, and the righteousness and victory of your struggle.

Kwanzaa is celebrated with various activities, including lighting the Kinara (a candle holder with seven candles), sharing a communal meal (Karamu), and exchanging gifts (Zawadi).

Books in the Library

Kwanzaa by Maulana Karenga
Call Number: GT4403 .K383 1998

ISBN: 0943412218

Publication Date: 1997-10-01

A SPECIAL COMMEMORATIVE EDITION RELEASED TO COINCIDE WITH THE HISTORIC UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE ISSUANCE OF THE KWANZAA STAMP. WRITTEN BY THE CREATOR OF KWANZAA, DR. MAULANA KARENGA, KWANZAA: A CELEBRATION OF FAMILY, COMMUNITY, & CULTURE includes color photographs, illustrations, decorating ideas, a Swahili pronunciation guide, a special interview with the creator of Kwanzaa, instructions for preparing & holding a traditional African Kwanzaa feast (karamu) & various other ways to celebrate Kwanzaa. In addition, this volume provides an in-depth understanding of the origins, values, & symbols of the holiday.
Kwanzaa Crafts by Marcia O. McNair
Call Number: TT900.K92 M38 1998

ISBN: 0806917776

Publication Date: 1998-09-01

Drape your home in the traditional African colors, & celebrate Kwanzaa with this brightly illustrated collection of stories, crafts, poetry, & recipes.

Documentaries

Kwanzaa: A Cultural Celebration
Description
Kwanzaa—a more and more widely observed holiday—provides African-Americans with a unique celebration that is rooted in the rich African tradition of their ancestors and the symbolism of the African harvest. This program offers a look—through the eyes of African-Americans—at the principles and practices of this joyous holiday
The Black Candle
Trace the history of Kwanzaa from its birth during the Black Power movement of the 1960s to its present-day status as a globally celebrated holiday.

Additional Resources

Academic Search Complete

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. going back as far as 1887.
Academic OneFile

The premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
JSTOR
As a student, you'll find JSTOR incredibly helpful for your research and learning. It gives you access to a vast collection of reliable, academic content across many subjects, from history to science. Plus, it provides powerful search tools and a workspace to organize your research, making it easier to find what you need and develop essential research skills.
Overdrive
This platform provides the ability to download eBooks and audiobooks to a computer or a portable device.
eBook Central (ProQuest)

This growing subscription package includes over 160,000 scholarly titles across academic disciplines.