Fiction: Reading for Fun

Dystopian World State controls population through genetic engineering, sleep-learning, and psychological manipulation. Bernard Marx, an outsider scientist, travels to a Savage Reservation and meets John, a man raised in the World State but born on the Reservation. John challenges the World State's values of conformity and hedonism, causing a stir and threatening the status quo.

A collection of short stories by Alice Walker, first published in 1973. This anthology features a series of narratives that center on the lives and experiences of Black women, exploring a diverse range of themes such as identity, race, gender, and social issues.

The story is primarily narrated through letters written by Celie, who shares her experiences, including the abuse she suffers at the hands of her stepfather and her subsequent marriages to abusive men. Throughout her journey, Celie finds solace in her sister Nettie and in her relationships with other women in her life, particularly the strong-willed and independent Shug Avery.

Ambrose Bierce was a notable American writer, journalist, and satirist, primarily recognized for his short stories and his cynical and sardonic wit. His most famous work is "The Devil's Dictionary," a collection of satirical definitions that skewer various aspects of society and human nature.

Short stories written by Ambrose E. Gonzales who grew up speaking the Gullah language with slaves working on his family's South Carolina plantation

Chekhov's stories often reflect the depth of human emotions, the intricacies of interpersonal relationships, and the struggles and aspirations of ordinary people, offering readers an intimate and perceptive view of the human condition.

Originally published in 1892, this compilation is one of several works in which Conan Doyle portrays the astute deductive skills of Sherlock Holmes and his loyal friend, Dr. John Watson.

It is a dramatized and partially fictionalized account of the Salem witch trials that took place in the Massachusetts Bay Colony during the late 17th century.

It tells the story of Hatcher Ide, a young man who returns to his hometown after college only to find that his family's business has collapsed. Hatcher must then adjust to a life of diminished prospects.

This novel portrays the rise and fall of the Amberson family, focusing on the decline of their wealth and status in a changing society at the turn of the 20th century.

This collection, "A Sappho of Green Springs, and other stories," was published in 1891. One of the key stories in the collection is "A Sappho of Green Springs," a tale set in the Old West that focuses on the intricacies of human nature and relationships, a theme that Bierce often explored in his works. The story weaves together elements of drama, irony, and wit.

The story revolves around an 18-year-old woman named Andrea moving to Barcelona after the Spanish Civil War to attend university. She enters a tumultuous world where she encounters her dysfunctional family and faces challenging circumstances.

The story follows several characters, including a deaf man named John Singer, who becomes a confidant and a source of comfort for others despite his own inability to speak. Through the perspectives of the diverse characters—among them a young girl, a black doctor, and an alcoholic—the novel explores their longings, struggles, and the isolation they experience.

The narrative revolves around Pip's journey from humble beginnings to an unexpected fortune and the challenges he faces as he navigates Victorian society.

This novel is set in London and Paris before and during the French Revolution. The novel follows the lives of several characters, including Charles Darnay, a French aristocrat, and Sydney Carton, a dissolute English lawyer.

The novel explores the story of Thomas Sutpen, a man with a mysterious and troubled past, and his relationship with his family, particularly his daughter, his son Henry, and his wife.

The story revolves around the interweaving lives of numerous characters, from the orphans Esther Summerson and Ada Clare to the relentless and seemingly endless legal case of Jarndyce and Jarndyce. This case serves as a central plot element, showcasing the flaws and inefficiencies of the legal system of the time.

The story follows the life of Jane Eyre, an orphaned young woman who faces adversity and mistreatment in her early life. Jane eventually becomes a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she falls in love with the brooding and mysterious master of the house, Mr. Rochester.

The novel tells the story of Jake, an African American soldier who returns from World War I and finds himself navigating the vibrant and complex life of Harlem in the 1920s.

"Robinson Crusoe" is a classic novel written by Daniel Defoe, first published in 1719. The story follows the adventures of a man named Robinson Crusoe, who is shipwrecked on a deserted island and must use his wits and resourcefulness to survive. The novel is considered one of the earliest and most influential works of English literature. "A Journal of the Plague Year" is a historical novel by Daniel Defoe, published in 1722. It is a fictionalized account of the Great Plague of London in 1665, narrated in the form of a journal. Defoe's narrative is considered one of the most detailed and vivid accounts of the devastation caused by the plague in London.

The story revolves around the Delaney family, focusing on the lives of three siblings: Maria, Niall, and Celia. Their father was a famous singer, and they've grown up in the world of show business. Each sibling has their own artistic talent and aspirations, but they find themselves entangled in complex relationships and struggles as they navigate their lives.

An elegant yet quirky, vivid portrait of life in Southern Appalachia in the vicinity of Lake Junaluska, N.C. The story involves a mountain school teacher, the son a of a New York millionaire, an African medical missionary, a mountain storekeeper, a nurse "who comes in time" and the "Moonshine King of Big Bear Cove."

The narrative follows the experiences of Melissande, a charismatic and independent woman, and her daughter Verena. The family navigates social challenges and personal struggles against the backdrop of Charleston's rich cultural tapestry.

This anthology includes Thomas's vivid and lyrical short stories that encompass a range of themes and styles.

Alongside his friends, Tom experiences thrilling adventures, from treasure hunts to witnessing a murder, while grappling with the moral lessons taught by the adults around him.

A tragic novella set in a small, bleak New England town. The story revolves around Ethan Frome, a man trapped in a loveless marriage with his sickly wife, Zeena.

The story follows the lives of Susy Branch and Nick Lansing, a charming but financially struggling couple who devise a plan to climb the social ladder by leveraging their friendships with the wealthy elite.

The novel follows the lives of two aspiring writers, Vance Weston and Halo Spear, who form a literary partnership in their pursuit of success and self-discovery. The story delves into their ambitions, relationships, and the world of literature and culture in the early 20th century.

It tells the story of Kate Orme, a young woman who marries Denis Peyton, a man from a wealthy but troubled family. Kate soon discovers that Denis is an alcoholic and a gambler, and that he is incapable of providing for her and their son.

It tells the story of Lily Bart, a beautiful and impoverished woman living in New York's high society during the Gilded Age.

The novel is set in the eerie moors of Yorkshire and is narrated by Mr. Lockwood, who rents Thrushcross Grange, a property adjacent to Wuthering Heights. Lockwood encounters the mysterious inhabitants of Wuthering Heights, and through their stories, he learns about the troubled past of Heathcliff, Catherine, and the Earnshaw and Linton families.

The definitive collection by the man whose craft and vision remains an enduring influence on generations of readers and writers. Contains twenty-one stories not included in the 1938 omnibus "The first forty-nine."

Set during the Spanish Civil War, it follows the story of Robert Jordan, an American dynamiter who joins an antifascist guerrilla unit to blow up a bridge behind enemy lines.

A posthumously published novel that follows a young American writer, David Bourne, and his wife Catherine during a glamorous European honeymoon in the 1920s.

A collection of short stories written by the renowned American author Ernest Hemingway. Originally published in 1925, this was Hemingway's first major work of fiction and played a significant role in shaping his reputation as a notable writer.

The book is divided into three parts and follows the life and adventures of the main character, Thomas Hudson, an artist and fisherman.

Men Without Women is a collection of short stories by Ernest Hemingway that explore themes of love, loss, and masculinity. The stories are set in a variety of locations and feature a diverse cast of characters. Men Without Women is a classic work of American literature that is sure to stay with you long after you finish reading it.

Ernest Hemingway, one of the most influential American writers of the 20th century, was renowned for his succinct and powerful writing style. His short stories are widely celebrated for their crisp prose, vivid settings, and exploration of themes such as war, human resilience, love, and the complexities of the human condition.

The novel revolves around Harry Morgan, a fishing boat captain in Key West, Florida. He initially struggles to make a living and provide for his family. Harry eventually becomes involved in illegal activities, such as smuggling, to make ends meet, leading him into dangerous and morally compromising situations.

Hemingway wrote this work as a parody of Anderson's book "Dark Laughter." In "The Torrents of Spring," Hemingway imitates Anderson's prose and narrative style in a humorous and exaggerated manner, poking fun at various literary conventions and trends of the time.

The novel is set against the backdrop of World War I and follows the love story between an American ambulance driver, Frederick Henry, and a British nurse, Catherine Barkley.

Southern short stories.

The story is set in the Jazz Age and follows the life of Jay Gatsby, a wealthy and enigmatic individual known for his lavish parties and elusive past.

A collection of short stories written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, originally published posthumously in 1962. The stories revolve around the character Pat Hobby, a down-and-out screenwriter trying to navigate the Hollywood film industry during its golden age.

The story delves into the life of a wealthy young man, Anson Hunter, exploring themes of privilege, social class, and the complexities of human relationships.

The novel centers on the character Amory Blaine, a young and privileged man whose experiences and journey from his youth through his time at Princeton University are the focal point of the story. The narrative delves into Amory's romantic relationships, his aspirations, and his struggles as he grapples with his own identity and ambitions in the changing landscape of post-World War I America.

The collection includes several other short stories that showcase Fitzgerald's distinctive writing style and themes. Some of the stories in this collection include "The Diamond as Big as the Ritz," "May Day," "The Rich Boy," and more.

"The Complete Stories" is a comprehensive collection that brings together all of O'Connor's short fiction, offering readers a complete view of her celebrated works.

The collection that established O'Connor's reputation as one of the American masters of the short story. The volume contains the celebrated title story, a tale of the murderous fugitive The Misfit, as well as The Displaced Person and eight other stories.

Overall, McTeague is a dark and tragic story about the destructive power of greed and jealousy. It is also a cautionary tale about the dangers of materialism and the importance of cherishing what is truly valuable in life.

A collection of renowned works by Franz Kafka, a celebrated figure in literature. This anthology includes several of Kafka's influential and thought-provoking short stories.

"Metamorphosis" depicts the story of Gregor Samsa, who inexplicably transforms into a large insect, exploring themes of alienation, identity, and the human condition. "The Trial" follows the protagonist, Josef K., as he faces a bizarre and oppressive legal system, where he's put on trial for a crime that is never specified.

It is a fictionalized account of the life of Bernadette Soubirous, a young peasant girl who claimed to have seen visions of the Virgin Mary in Lourdes, France, in 1858.

It tells the story of Raskolnikov, a young and impoverished ex-student who commits a heinous crime and grapples with the psychological and moral consequences of his actions.

The haunting tale of a disfigured musical genius who lives beneath the Paris Opera House. The Phantom falls in love with a young soprano, Christine Daaé, and becomes obsessed with her talent. He manipulates events at the opera house to further Christine's career, while also harboring dark intentions.

The story is set on a farm where the animals, led by pigs Napoleon and Snowball, rebel against the human farmer, Mr. Jones, to establish their own utopian society. The animals institute principles of equality and self-governance, but over time, the pigs, particularly Napoleon, become corrupt and authoritarian, mirroring the rise of a totalitarian regime.

A dystopian novel set in a totalitarian society controlled by a government led by the enigmatic figure Big Brother. The story follows Winston Smith, a low-ranking member of the ruling Party, who rebels against the oppressive regime and its surveillance state.

A renowned epic poem by Lord Byron, considered one of his most significant works. It narrates the life and adventures of Don Juan, a young and charismatic man known for his amorous exploits and wanderings.

The story is set in late Victorian England and narrated by an unnamed protagonist, who describes the invasion of Earth by Martians.

A classic science fiction novel that follows the story of an unnamed Time Traveller who invents a machine capable of transporting him through time. He travels to the distant future, witnessing the division of humanity into two species—the peaceful but ineffectual Eloi and the predatory Morlocks.

Jean Louise Finch, a young woman returning to her hometown of Maycomb, Alabama, must confront her father's racist beliefs and her own disillusionment with the American South.

The story is narrated by Jean Louise "Scout" Finch, a young girl growing up in the small town of Maycomb, Alabama. Scout, along with her brother Jem and their friend Dill, becomes captivated by the reclusive figure of Boo Radley. The novel centers on the trial of Tom Robinson, a black man falsely accused of assaulting a white woman.

The story follows the experiences of Christopher Newman, a wealthy American businessman who travels to Europe to seek cultural experiences and a potential wife.

Captain Ahab of the whaling ship Pequod is obsessed with hunting down and killing the giant white whale Moby Dick, who took off his leg on a previous voyage. Ahab's quest drives him and his crew to the brink of madness and death.

It is a semi-autobiographical novel that tells the story of Harry Haller, a man who is torn between his civilized and uncivilized selves.

It is set in medieval Europe and tells the story of two friends, Narcissus and Goldmund, who represent two opposing sides of human nature: the intellectual and the sensual.

The novel revolves around the character Hans Giebenrath, a talented and ambitious young student. As he is sent to a prestigious boarding school, Hans faces intense academic pressure and high expectations from his teachers and parents.

Two of the best-known novels by Honoré de Balzac. They are both set in 19th-century France, and they explore themes of love, loss, and the human condition.

A satire of the bohemian and intellectual life of London in the aftermath of World War I. The novel follows the lives of a group of young people who are trying to find meaning and purpose in a world that seems to have gone mad.

This installment in the James Bond saga follows the iconic British secret agent, James Bond, on a mission to Japan. Bond, still reeling from the death of his wife, embarks on a mission to infiltrate the castle of a former Japanese intelligence officer turned criminal mastermind, known as "Tiger" Tanaka.

An anthology that compiles a diverse selection of Jewish-themed stories from a broad range of authors.

The book is part of Fletcher's "Carolina Series," a collection of novels that vividly portray the history and culture of colonial and early America, particularly in the Carolinas.

The story follows Holden, a teenager who has been expelled from his prep school and experiences a series of misadventures in New York City before he is expected to return home.

The tale of Buck, a domestic dog living in California, who is stolen and sold into the brutal life of an Alaskan sled dog during the Klondike Gold Rush. Buck faces the harsh wilderness, learns the law of the club and fang, and gradually reverts to his primal instincts.

A wolf-dog who is captured by humans and subjected to cruelty and abuse. He eventually escapes and is rescued by Weedon Scott, a kind and gentle man. With Scott's help, White Fang learns to trust and love humans, and he becomes a loyal and devoted companion.

An adventure novel set during the French and Indian War. The story follows Hawkeye, a frontiersman, and his friends, Chingachgook and Uncas, the last of the Mohican tribe, as they rescue Cora and Alice Munro, the daughters of a British officer.

The novel is set against the backdrop of the French and Indian War in the wilderness of upstate New York. Natty Bumppo, an experienced woodsman, serves as a pathfinder for a British detachment traveling through the perilous and uncharted forests.

It is the third of five novels published as The Leatherstocking Tales. The novel tells the story of Natty Bumppo, a frontiersman, and his travels with a party of settlers across the unsettled prairie of the Great Plains.

Satanstoe is set in the Albany region of New York State in the early 18th century. It tells the story of Corny Littlepage, a young man who is determined to make his fortune in the fur trade. Corny is a resourceful and ambitious man, and he is eventually successful in his business ventures.

A classic novel that explores the life and romantic pursuits of its main character, Emma Woodhouse. Set in the early 19th century, the story revolves around Emma's matchmaking efforts and her well-intentioned, yet often misguided, attempts to find love for those around her.

This novel tells the story of the Dashwood sisters, Elinor and Marianne, as they navigate love and societal expectations in 19th-century England. After their father's death, they must rely on the kindness of distant relatives, facing financial hardships and romantic entanglements. Elinor represents sense and rationality, while Marianne embodies sensibility and passion.

The story follows Fanny Price, a young girl from a less affluent background who is sent to live with her wealthy relatives at Mansfield Park. Fanny navigates the social dynamics and struggles to find her place within the household.

A compilation of short stories by the acclaimed American author Jean Stafford. Stafford was a noted writer of the mid-20th century, celebrated for her skillful and incisive storytelling.

The Wapshot Scandal is a darkly comic novel that explores themes of alienation, anxiety, and the search for meaning in a rapidly changing world. It is also a celebration of the resilience and humor of the American people.

The story centers around Polly Fulton, the daughter of a prominent and influential banker named B.F. Fulton.

Multigenerational novel set in California's Salinas Valley. The story spans several decades and follows the intertwined lives of two families, the Trasks and the Hamiltons.

The story of two migrant workers, George Milton and Lennie Small, who dream of owning a farm together. George is intelligent and protective, while Lennie is strong but intellectually disabled. The two travel from town to town in search of work, but their dreams are constantly thwarted by Lennie's accidents and George's own insecurities.

A collection of short stories that captures the essence of life in the American West.

A novel that explores the themes of greed, corruption, and the American Dream. It is set in New Baytown, a fictional town on Long Island, New York, in the early 1960s.

A busload of strangers embarks on a journey through California's backroads, each with their own unique story and set of problems. As they travel, they must confront their own demons and learn to rely on each other for support.

A novella that follows a Mexican pearl diver named Kino, who discovers a valuable pearl. Initially, the find seems like a stroke of luck that will bring prosperity to his family. However, the pearl's perceived wealth leads to tragedy as greed, envy, and manipulation consume Kino's community.

The novel reimagines the lives and experiences of Gertrude, Hamlet's mother, and Claudius, Hamlet's uncle and stepfather. It explores their relationship, the circumstances that led to their marriage, and the political intrigues within the kingdom of Denmark. Updike's retelling provides an alternative perspective on the events that eventually unfold in "Hamlet," shedding light on the characters' motivations and the complexities of their personalities.

John Updike's most various collection, a book as full of departures and surprises as the historical period that produced them. Some stories, such as the title piece, have the tone and personality of essays. Others objectify the chimeras of middle-class life, especially life in a fictional New England enclave called Tarbox.

A collection of short stories by the acclaimed American author John Updike. This anthology showcases Updike's masterful storytelling and keen observations of everyday life.

A collection of short stories written by John Updike, published in 1979. The book is a compilation of interconnected stories that depict the life and relationships of the Maples, a fictional married couple, Richard and Joan.

A collection of short stories by the acclaimed American author John Updike, published in 1987. Known for his keen observations of everyday life and human nature, Updike's short stories in this collection reflect on various aspects of contemporary American existence.

The story recounts the adventures of Lemuel Gulliver, a ship's surgeon, who embarks on four extraordinary voyages to various imaginary lands.

These three novellas by Conrad offer a blend of seafaring adventure, introspection, and exploration of the human condition set against the backdrop of colonialism and the maritime world.

The novel is set during World War II, and it follows the story of Captain John Yossarian, a bombardier in the United States Army Air Forces. Yossarian is sane and rational, but he is also surrounded by madness and absurdity. He sees the futility of war and the insanity of the military bureaucracy, and he desperately wants to get out of the service. However, Yossarian is caught in a Catch-22: he can be discharged from the service if he is insane, but if he asks to be discharged, he is proving that he is sane and must continue flying missions. Yossarian is trapped in a no-win situation, and he is forced to find increasingly creative ways to avoid flying missions.

Set in the Gullah community of South Carolina in the early 20th century, the novel follows the story of Fancy Nelson, a young woman who is passing for white. Fancy's life is complicated by her desire to escape her humble origins, her love for a black man, and the racism of the society she lives in.

The novel is set in the Gullah community of the South Carolina Sea Islands and focuses on Mary, a strong-willed black woman who faces the trials and challenges of motherhood, love, and community in a world defined by the traditions and rituals of the Gullah people.

It tells the story of Edna Pontellier, a married woman who grapples with societal expectations, motherhood, and her own desires. Feeling stifled by the conventions of the late 19th-century Creole society in New Orleans, Edna seeks independence and self-discovery, rejecting the traditional roles expected of women in her time.

a collection of stories by the celebrated New Zealand writer Katherine Mansfield. This collection, selected and edited by Vincent O'Sullivan, presents a curated selection of Mansfield's short fiction.

A classic novel that explores the life of patients in a mental institution. The story is narrated by "Chief" Bromden, a patient who pretends to be deaf and dumb to escape attention. When Randle McMurphy, a rebellious and free-spirited man, arrives at the institution, he challenges the authoritarian Nurse Ratched and the oppressive rules.

A 19th-century American engineer travels back in time to King Arthur's Court and uses his knowledge to modernize the kingdom, but faces opposition from the Church and the feudal nobility.

A collection of Langston Hughes' short fiction, which showcases his talent for storytelling alongside his renowned poetry and essays.

"Not Without Laughter" is a novel that portrays the life of a young black boy named Sandy growing up in Kansas in the early 20th century. "Tambourines to Glory" is a play that follows the lives of two women, Essie and Laura, who start a church in Harlem.

A short story that explores the life of Emily Grierson, a woman from a prominent family in a Southern town. The narrative unfolds through the eyes of the townspeople, who witness Emily's reclusive and unconventional life.

The story explores the lives of several interconnected characters in Imperial Russia. At the center of the narrative is Anna Karenina, a married aristocrat who becomes embroiled in a scandalous affair with the dashing Count Vronsky, resulting in social ostracism and personal conflict.

A whimsical and fantastical tale of a young girl named Alice, who falls down a rabbit hole into a surreal world. This enchanting story takes readers on an extraordinary journey filled with peculiar characters, curious adventures, and nonsensical occurrences.

This story chronicles Twain's journey aboard the chartered vessel Quaker City through Europe and the Holy Land, a trip he took as a young journalist. The book offers a humorous and satirical account of his experiences, observations, and encounters with different cultures and sights as he traveled across the Mediterranean and the Middle East.

A Gothic novel that tells the story of Victor Frankenstein, a young scientist who creates a grotesque, sapient creature through an unorthodox scientific experiment. Horrified by his creation, Victor abandons the creature, setting off a chain of tragic events.

A gothic novel that tells the story of Ambrosio, a revered monk whose life takes a dark turn when he falls into temptation and engages in sinful and forbidden activities. As he descends into a world of evil and cruelty, Ambrosio grapples with the consequences of his actions, facing a spiral of moral degradation and supernatural occurrences.

The book recounts Angelou's childhood and adolescent years, detailing her experiences growing up in the racially segregated South. She describes her early years, the challenges she faced, and the strength she found in herself to overcome adversity and discrimination.

"Three Exemplary Novels" is a collection by the renowned Spanish author Miguel de Unamuno. It includes three significant works: "Abel Sánchez," "The Madness of Doctor Montarco," and "San Manuel Bueno, Martyr."

Hester Prynne, who is punished for committing adultery in the Puritan society of Massachusetts. She is forced to wear a scarlet letter 'A' (for adulteress) on her clothing as a mark of shame and as a means of societal punishment.

Nathanael West, an American author, is known for his significant impact on American literature despite producing a relatively small body of work before his untimely death in 1940. He is most recognized for his influential novels and novellas.

A compilation of Nathaniel Hawthorne's writings.

A comic masterpiece about Chechikov, a trafficker in souls (adult male serfs), who can still be of profit even when dead.

It is set in the Gullah community of South Carolina during the Reconstruction era, and it tells the story of a young Yankee woman who comes to the South to teach the freed slaves.

An omnibus containing 286 stories and poems.

The novel follows the story of a cowboy known only as the Virginian, who works on the Sunk Creek ranch in Wyoming. The Virginian is a man of few words but strong principles, and he becomes involved in various adventures, including conflicts with rustlers and a love affair with a schoolteacher from the East.

A compilation of five of the author's comedic and beloved works. P.G. Wodehouse was famous for his humorous and witty writing style, often featuring colorful characters, intricate plots, and light-hearted narratives set in the English upper class society of the early 20th century.

This collection brings together twenty-one of Mr. Taylor's best stories, written over thirty years. It ranges in time from "A Spinster's Tale" (1940) to "Dean of Men" (1969), and confirms what has long been known to discriminating readers: Peter Taylor's place in modern American fiction is very high.

A long monologue by Alexander Portnoy, a young Jewish American man, to his psychiatrist. Portnoy confesses his deepest desires and insecurities, including his obsessive preoccupation with sex and his guilt-ridden relationship with his mother.

This book contains a wide range of Bradbury's stories, from classic science fiction tales like "Fahrenheit 451" and "The Martian Chronicles" to more whimsical and poetic pieces like "All Summer in a Day" and "Dandelion Wine."

The story follows the adventures of a young boy named Douglas Spaulding as he experiences the joys and wonders of boyhood during a magical summer.

A Scottish novelist, essayist, poet, and travel writer. He is best known for his adventure novels, such as Treasure Island (1883) and Kidnapped (1886), and his horror novella, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1886).

This book recounts Twain's journey through Europe in the late 1870s. The book humorously chronicles his experiences, observations, and encounters as he travels across the continent.

It follows the life of Eugene Henderson, a wealthy and troubled man who embarks on a journey to Africa in search of meaning and fulfillment.

It tells the story of Moses Herzog, a middle-aged Jewish professor who is struggling with a midlife crisis. Herzog is divorced, alienated from his children, and deeply dissatisfied with his life. He begins writing a series of letters to various people, including God, his ex-wife, and his friends. In his letters, Herzog pours out his anger, frustration, and despair.

In this unique noir masterpiece by the incomparable Saul Bellow, a young man is sucked into the mysterious, heat-filled vortex of New York City. Asa Leventhal, a temporary bachelor with his wife away on a visit to her mother, attempts to find relief from a Gotham heat wave, only to be accosted in the park by a down-at-the-heels stranger who accuses Leventhal of ruining his life. Unable to shake the stranger loose, Leventhal is led by his own self-doubts and suspicions into a nightmare of paranoia and fear.

"Pudd'nhead Wilson" tells the story of a young lawyer in a small town who devises a controversial plan to expose the truth in a murder case. "Those Extraordinary Twins" is a farcical and humorous tale featuring conjoined twins with very different personalities.

The stories are linked by the character George Willard, a young reporter for the town's newspaper. Through George's interactions with the townspeople, the reader gains insights into the private struggles, desires, and emotional lives of the characters in this seemingly ordinary Midwestern town.

The story follows Sam Dodsworth, an American automobile manufacturer who retires and embarks on a trip to Europe with his wife Fran.

The novel follows the life and exploits of Elmer Gantry, a young, charismatic, and ambitious man who becomes a preacher, despite lacking genuine religious faith. Gantry uses his charm and oratory skills to rise in the ranks of religious organizations, manipulating and using his position for personal gain, often engaging in fraudulent and unethical behavior.

A collection of short stories and poems by Stephen Vincent Benét, first published in 1946.

A classic Gothic novel that introduces the infamous vampire Count Dracula, alongside a cast of characters embroiled in a tale of horror, suspense, and the battle between good and evil. The story unfolds through journal entries, letters, and newspaper clippings, presenting the chilling and suspenseful narrative of Count Dracula's quest to spread the undead curse in Victorian England.

"Mary Ventura and the Ninth Kingdom" is a short story written by Sylvia Plath. The story was originally penned when Plath was a student at Smith College. Initially rejected for publication by a women's magazine, the story was thought to be lost but was rediscovered decades later.

A semi-autobiographical novel that follows Esther Greenwood, a young woman navigating life, career, and mental health in the 1950s.

A collection of short stories written by the acclaimed English author Thomas Hardy.

Set in the rural English countryside, follows the story of Bathsheba Everdene, an independent and headstrong woman, and the three suitors who vie for her affections: Gabriel Oak, a shepherd; William Boldwood, a wealthy farmer; and Sergeant Francis Troy, a dashing but unreliable soldier.

It is based on the medieval verse epic Gregorius written by the German Minnesinger Hartmann von Aue (c. 1165–1210). The book explores a subject that fascinated Thomas Mann to the end of his life – the origins of evil and evil's connection with magic.

A comprehensive collection of short stories by Thomas Wolfe, a renowned American author known for his rich, descriptive prose and explorations of American life.

A posthumous collection of works by Thomas Wolfe, one of the great American novelists of the early 20th century. The book was published in 1941, following Wolfe's death. It includes a selection of his short stories, essays, and excerpts from his longer, unfinished novels, providing a glimpse into Wolfe's varied and extensive literary output.

Eugene Gant, a young man from North Carolina, leaves home to pursue his dreams of becoming a writer. He travels to Harvard University, New York City, and Europe, where he experiences a variety of ups and downs. Through it all, he never gives up on his dreams.

The novel tells the powerful and poignant story of Pecola Breedlove, a young African American girl growing up in Lorain, Ohio, during the years following the Great Depression.

Huck Finn and a runaway slave travel down the Mississippi River, encountering various characters and learning more about the world and themselves.

"Dragon's Teeth" specifically focuses on the rise of fascism in Europe during the 1930s. The novel follows the main character, Lanny Budd, as he navigates the political and social landscape of Europe, encountering the growing threats posed by the Nazis in Germany.

The plot revolves around a man named Kris Kringle who claims to be the real Santa Claus and is hired as a department store Santa at Macy's. His kind and genuine nature wins over everyone, except for the skeptical Doris Walker and her daughter, Susan. Kris's mission is to restore the spirit of Christmas and belief in Santa Claus, leading to a court case that challenges his identity

Hugo follows the life of Jean Valjean, an ex-convict seeking redemption. The novel spans decades and intertwines the lives of various characters against the backdrop of 19th-century France.

The story follows the protagonist, Orlando, through multiple centuries and different historical periods. The novel begins in the Elizabethan era, with Orlando as a young nobleman and poet, and then continues through various periods, witnessing and experiencing transformations and changes across time.

It tells the story of the Ramsay family, who spend a summer vacation on the Isle of Skye in Scotland. Six-year-old James Ramsay is desperate to go to the lighthouse, but his father keeps postponing the trip. The novel follows the family over the course of several years, and explores themes of loss, grief, and the enduring power of love.

It's divided into nine sections that represent the inner thoughts and perspectives of six characters—Bernard, Louis, Neville, Jinny, Rhoda, and Susan. The narrative unfolds through their soliloquies, capturing the ebbs and flows of their consciousness over the course of their lives.

A collection of tales by Washington Irving, an influential American author known for his contributions to early American literature.

An anthology that brings together the extensive collection of stories and tales by the renowned American author Washington Irving.

A comprehensive collection that gathers Faulkner's various short stories. The collection includes his most celebrated and lesser-known works, providing a full view of his talent and diversity as a writer.

The novel tells the story of the rise of the Snopes family, a poor and unscrupulous clan, in the small town of Frenchman's Bend, Mississippi.

The final novel in William Faulkner's Snopes Trilogy, following the ruthless rise of Flem Snopes.

A novel set in the early 20th century that revolves around the adventures of an 11-year-old boy named Lucius Priest and his companions, Boon Hogganbeck and Ned McCaslin.

Contains the American novelist's greatest short novels: Spotted Horses, Old Man, and The Bear.

Set in Faulkner's fictional Yoknapatawpha County, "The Town" explores the lives of the Snopes family, particularly the rise of Flem Snopes, who starts out as a lowly laborer and ascends to power and influence. The novel captures the transformation of the town, the influence of the Snopes family, and the societal changes in the post-World War I era.

Follows the Bundren family's journey to honor their deceased matriarch's wish to be buried in her family plot. The novel is narrated through the perspectives of various characters, each with their own chapter, providing insights into their thoughts, emotions, and motivations.

This book is a complex and interconnected collection of narratives that explores the history and legacy of the McCaslin family in the American South.

The story revolves around Joe Christmas, an enigmatic man of uncertain racial background, who faces an inner conflict about his identity and place in society. His struggles intertwine with the stories of other characters, highlighting themes of race, religion, and the search for identity.

The play focuses on the character of Nancy Mannigoe, an African American woman who faces challenging circumstances. It explores complex themes such as race, justice, and the moral and social issues prevalent in the South during the early 20th century.

The story is structured in a unique manner, divided into four sections, each narrated from the perspective of a different character from the Compson family. The narrative spans several decades, exploring the decline of the Compson family and the deteriorating Southern aristocracy in which they reside.

It tells the story of a group of British schoolboys who are stranded on a deserted island after their plane crashes. At first, the boys attempt to maintain a civilized society, but they soon descend into savagery and violence.

This collection brings together a diverse range of short stories that exemplify the richness, depth, and variety of Irish storytelling.

A fictional journal written by William Williams, presented with an introduction and notes by David Howard Dickason. The journal follows the adventures and experiences of the titular character, Penrose, a seaman, as he navigates through a series of maritime escapades.

The novel depicts labor unrest in a Massachusetts mill town as the I.W.W. calls a strike. It is noteworthy for the realism employed in depicting contemporary labor conditions and the details of the strike. Strikingly realistic, the novel does not shy from harsh depictions of the poor working conditions in the mill, nor of the violent tenor of the workers' anger. And Churchill's shrewd eye observes domestic matters as well, with his astute dramatizations of romance and married life.

The story is set in a small Southern town and delves into the intricacies of Pearson's life, his relationships, and the challenges he faces as a preacher. Through its vivid portrayal of rural Southern culture, the novel explores themes of spirituality, family dynamics, and societal expectations within the African American community.

Part of a two-volume set of works by Zora Neale Hurston, Novels and Stories features the acclaimed 1937 novel Their Eyes Were Watching God-- plus Jonah's Gourd Vine, Moses Man of the Mountain, Seraph on the Suwanee, and selected stories.

The story follows Janie Crawford, an African American woman, and her quest for personal identity and fulfillment. Janie's story spans different periods in her life as she navigates three marriages, each offering insight into her growth, self-discovery, and her search for love and independence.