Fiction: Reading for Fun

Jack Reacher, a former Army investigator, is drawn into a murder case in Carter Crossing, Mississippi. A young woman has been found murdered, and the evidence points to a soldier at a nearby military base. However, the soldier has powerful friends, and Reacher soon finds himself caught up in a web of deceit and corruption.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, The Secret Adversary; The Boomerang Clue; The Moving Finger; Death Comes as the End

Upon his release from prison, Angel seeks to leave his criminal past behind and start afresh. However, he quickly becomes embroiled in a dangerous world of crime and revenge, compelled by circumstances beyond his control.

Celia sets out to find the killer with the help of her new friends Willy and Alvirah Meehan, who are celebrating their forty-fifth wedding anniversary. But the list of suspects is large and growing, and Celia soon realizes that she has put herself in mortal danger.

Lawyer Jack Mullen, seeks justice for the murder of his brother. As he investigates, he uncovers corruption and dark secrets in the Hamptons, delving into a tale of power, privilege, and revenge.

A young college student becomes obsessed with her charismatic and anti-establishment English professor, and descends into a world of dark and primal desire.

A collection of short stories that delves into the complexities of human relationships, often exploring the darker aspects of life.

A detective novel featuring Ezekiel "Easy" Rawlins, a World War II veteran who works as a private investigator in Los Angeles. In this story, Easy is tasked with finding a missing woman named "Black Betty."

Set in the aftermath of the dot-com boom in New York City. It follows Maxine Tarnow, a fraud investigator, as she delves into the mysterious and murky world of technology companies and their dubious practices. As she navigates through the complexities of cyberculture and corporate malfeasance, Maxine finds herself embroiled in a web of intrigue, conspiracy, and danger.

A group of people are drawn to a mysterious cave in the Appalachian Mountains, where they confront their own darkness and their own potential for redemption.

Three boyhood friends carry a destructive secret into their adult lives.

A compilation that includes all the stories and novels featuring the iconic detective Sherlock Holmes.

A political and military thriller that revolves around a fictional account of a terrorist siege and hostage situation in the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C.

Pearson writes of murder and its consequences in a small Southern town. When an officer of the law is brutally slain, a fellow cop - one with a particular sensitivity to the darker corners of the human heart - sets out to solve the crime.

Follows private detective Cormoran Strike as he investigates the supposed suicide of a supermodel. Teaming up with his resourceful assistant Robin, Strike delves into the glamorous but treacherous world of fashion, encountering a web of secrets, lies, and deceit.

The Spellmans, a family of private investigators, are back in action in this sequel to The Spellman Files. Izzy Spellman is on the case when a mysterious copycat vandal begins replicating crimes from the 1990s. Meanwhile, her parents are dealing with their own secrets and problems. The Spellmans must work together to solve their cases and keep their family together.

These two novels are pivotal in the Hercule Poirot series, with "The Mysterious Affair at Styles" being the first case and "Curtain" being the final one, allowing readers to see the progression and culmination of Poirot's career as a detective.

A novel set in a post-apocalyptic world where a catastrophic electromagnetic pulse (EMP) event has plunged the United States into darkness. The story follows a group of survivors as they struggle to navigate the harsh realities of a society without electricity, grappling with the collapse of infrastructure and the chaos that ensues.

A photojournalist on vacation in Hong Kong discovers a series of paintings that bear an uncanny resemblance to her murdered twin sister. She becomes obsessed with the paintings and the artist who created them, and soon finds herself caught up in a deadly game of cat and mouse.

The story of a police chief named Jesse Stone, who investigates the murder of a young woman on a deserted beach in Paradise, Massachusetts.

A thrilling espionage novel that follows the story of British intelligence officer Sam McCready. McCready is assigned to track down a Soviet mole in the British Secret Service.

A noir mystery set in post-World War II Los Angeles. The story revolves around Ezekiel "Easy" Rawlins, an African American war veteran who becomes a private investigator. Hired to find a missing woman, Easy delves into the city's dark underbelly, encountering corruption, racial tensions, and unexpected danger.

A grieving couple experiences strange and disturbing visions while in Venice, forcing them to confront their own grief and fears.

A novel that tells the story of Charlotte Emory, a middle-aged housewife who leads an unfulfilling life. Charlotte, feeling trapped in a loveless marriage, decides to escape her mundane existence and plans to leave her family. However, her attempt at starting anew is interrupted when she is taken hostage by an inept bank robber, Jake Simms.

A true murder story, this book is based on the Main Line Murder Case in which a high school teacher was found dead in an automobile in Upper Merion, Pennsylvania, and her two children had disappeared.

The novel is a first-person account by Pascual Duarte, a criminal awaiting execution. He tells his life story and shares the reasons behind his violent actions. The narrative delves into his troubled upbringing, experiences, and the circumstances that led to his criminal life.

A collection that often includes a set of novels featuring the famous Belgian detective, Hercule Poirot. These collections typically contain five complete Poirot mysteries in a single volume, allowing readers to enjoy a variety of Christie's classic tales that showcase Poirot's brilliant deductions and sleuthing skills.

In "Fletch Won," readers are taken back to the early days of Fletch's career. The story follows Fletch as a young reporter working in the newspaper industry. It delves into his investigative skills, clever wit, and his knack for uncovering the truth.

"The Flight of the Falcon" by Daphne du Maurier is a suspenseful novel revolving around a young English art historian, Armino Fabbio, who becomes embroiled in a complex mystery.

Travis McGee, a self-proclaimed "salvage consultant" who helps recover stolen items for a fee. In this installment, McGee is hired to retrieve a collection of gems. However, the case takes a perilous turn as he finds himself entangled in a complex web of deceit, violence, and corruption while attempting to solve the mystery behind the stolen jewels.

A collection of Nero Wolfe stories. This anthology features multiple cases solved by the brilliant and eccentric detective Nero Wolfe and his trusty assistant, Archie Goodwin.

Set in a rural Louisiana community, the story begins with the murder of a white farmer and the subsequent gathering of old African American men, each armed and ready to take responsibility for the crime.

Lisbeth Salander, a brilliant but troubled hacker, seeks revenge on those who have wronged her, including her legal guardian and a journalist who tried to expose her secrets.

Moscow homicide detective Arkady Renko is called to investigate the murders of three unidentified bodies found in Gorky Park. The victims have been shot and their faces and fingertips removed, making identification difficult.

In 1855, Edward Pierce, a master thief, plots to rob a train carrying a fortune in gold from England to France. Pierce is a meticulous planner and assembles a team of skilled criminals to help him carry out the heist.

A thriller novel set in the 1930s. The story follows Raven, a hitman and assassin, who is hired to kill a government minister. After completing the job, he is betrayed by his employer and seeks revenge

A novel that reimagines the life of a character named Richard Monroe, an individual shaped by his association with President Theodore Roosevelt.

A short story by Susan Glaspell, published in 1917. The narrative is based on a real murder case that the author covered as a journalist.

A murder mystery set in Barcelona, Spain.

It tells the story of Lancelot Lamar, a disenchanted lawyer who finds himself confined in a mental asylum with memories that don't seem worth remembering. The novel is a dark and complex exploration of themes such as sin, redemption, and the meaning of life.

Hannah Hall's husband, Owen, disappears, leaving behind a note with a single directive: "Protect her." Hannah must search for Owen and protect his 16-year-old daughter, Bailey, while uncovering secrets about his past.

A collection of three novels by the author of Cold Fire features shocking tales of incredible terror.

This novel is a work of fiction that explores themes related to the American dream, power, and wealth in the context of the country's industrial and financial landscape.

A classic hardboiled detective novel following private investigator Sam Spade. He gets entangled in a web of deceit and murder when a woman hires him to track down her missing sister.

It is a suspenseful thriller about a man who is hunted by Nazi agents after accidentally winning a cake at a charity fête.

A compilation of short stories by Jeffery Deaver, a renowned author of suspense and thriller novels.

The story follows Dave Robicheaux, a Louisiana detective and former police officer, as he grapples with personal struggles and investigates a complex murder case involving a drug dealer named Tee Bobby Hulin. Robicheaux becomes involved in the search for Tee Bobby's killer and uncovers a web of corruption, violence, and murky alliances in the Louisiana underworld.

In The Murders of Richard III, Jacqueline Kirby is invited to attend a weekend gathering at a remote English manor house to celebrate the discovery of a lost letter that exonerates King Richard III of the murders of the Princes in the Tower. However, the festivities turn deadly when the guests begin to be murdered in ways that recreate the deaths of the Princes in the Tower.

Philip is raised by his wealthy guardian Ambrose, who moves to Italy due to ill health. During his time there, Ambrose marries Rachel, a distant cousin. However, Ambrose's health deteriorates, and he eventually dies, raising suspicions about Rachel's involvement in his death.

A noir novel following Webster Fillmore Goodhue, a former teacher turned crime scene cleaner. Goodhue is drawn into a world of murder, deception, and dark humor as he navigates the seedy underbelly of Los Angeles while attempting to erase the aftermath of violent deaths.

Dave Robicheaux, an ex-New Orleans detective, finds himself in the midst of a complex mystery involving the death of a young prostitute. As he begins to investigate, he is drawn into a dark world of organized crime, corruption, and violence.

A thrilling espionage novel that centers around Jonathan Pine, a former British soldier turned night manager at a luxurious hotel. Pine gets involved with the intelligence community after encountering a high-profile guest, Roper, a wealthy businessman who is part of an illegal arms trade.

Jack Kirby, whose wife had walked out on him when their daughter kills herself after getting hold of Jack's gun, takes on the task of babysitting a beautiful woman who is set to testify against the mob, and he finds himself giving in to her temptation.

Holly Barker, a former police chief who moves to Florida for a fresh start. She becomes entangled in a web of crime and corruption after discovering a disturbing secret involving a prominent figure.

The novel follows the character Michael Havelock, a former CIA operative who is haunted by the death of his girlfriend, Jenna Karas. Years later, he is drawn back into the world of espionage when he receives information suggesting that Jenna may still be alive.

A sequel to Gaston Leroux's classic "The Phantom of the Opera." In Forsyth's continuation, the Phantom, presumed dead, actually survives and journeys to New York City to escape his past. He becomes embroiled in the construction of the Manhattan Opera House and is captivated by a young singer.

Lyra Silvertongue and her daemon Pantalaimon journey to the Arctic to study Dust. They face many challenges along the way, but eventually learn more about Dust and its importance. They also discover a secret about the Magisterium that could have far-reaching consequences.

Tommy and Tuppence Beresford, now in their seventies, are living a quiet life in a village in England. However, their retirement is interrupted when Tuppence discovers a cryptic message in an old book: "Mary Jordan did not die naturally." Tommy and Tuppence investigate the message and soon find themselves embroiled in a case that is over 60 years old.

It tells the story of a cyberattack on the United States government and the assassination attempt on President Jonathan Lincoln Duncan.

Dr. Alex Delaware, a child psychologist who often assists the police in solving crimes. In this book, Delaware finds himself embroiled in a murder investigation when he is asked to evaluate a patient, only to discover the man dead in his office. As Delaware delves into the case, he becomes entangled in a web of deceit and danger.

A troubled teen becomes a suspect in a string of murders, as his adopted family races to stop him before he hurts his younger sister.

Murder, Suspense, Sex, Comedy. Sandtrap has it all, from biting satire to steamy romance to absolute horror. Readers should be careful not to blink, because either the killer or the punch line may be lurking just beyond the turn of the next page. Can you guess which characters are suspects and which are only comic relief?

Follows the journey of two poets, Arturo Belano and Ulises Lima, as they search for a missing writer in the literary underground of Mexico City.

The story follows the character of Tyrell Hawthorne, an American operative who becomes embroiled in a complex and dangerous international conspiracy. The plot involves a woman named Jill Chalmers, whose husband, a scientist, is murdered.

A mystery novel following the character Edward X. Delaney, a New York City police captain turned private detective. Delaney is investigating a series of murders involving wealthy, influential individuals in the art world.

The narrative revolves around a retired judiciary employee, Benjamin Chaparro, who decides to write a novel based on a brutal crime that occurred years earlier. The case is deeply personal to him and involves a murder investigation and an unrequited love story. As Benjamin delves into the unsolved case, he reflects on the complexities of justice and the unresolved emotions from the past.

A novel set in post-war Barcelona, following a young boy named Daniel who discovers a mysterious book in the Cemetery of Forgotten Books. This book, "The Shadow of the Wind," captivates him, and as he delves into its secrets, he unravels a dark and dangerous story involving love, betrayal, and an elusive author.

Jodi and Todd, a couple in a long-term relationship where cracks begin to emerge. As their relationship deteriorates, infidelity and betrayal lead to a spiraling sequence of events.

Richard Rollison, known as "The Toff," a gentleman detective who solves mysteries in London. The Toff, with his wit and resourcefulness, tackles various cases throughout the series.

Six years after watching the love of his life marry another man, Jake Fisher learns that her husband has died. He attends the funeral, but to his shock, the widow is not Natalie. Jake sets out to find the truth, and uncovers a web of secrets and lies.

A woman convicted of murder fifteen years ago goes on a true crime show to prove her innocence. But she's not the only one with secrets.

A lyrical voice from the South weaves a searing psychological drama around a small town shocked by its first murder, hurtling a calm and complacent community into a harrowing realm of alienation and distrust. Essex, South Carolina, is a town where doors are never locked—until an elderly widow is murdered in her bed. 

LAPD homicide detective Peter Decker is called to New York to help his half-brother, Rabbi Jonathan Levine, investigate the murder of his brother-in-law, Ephraim Leiber. Ephraim's niece, Shaynda, is missing, and Decker suspects that she may be in danger.

Jacob and Megan Brandeis, struggling writers, go undercover at The Store, a mega-successful and secretive corporation. They plan to write a book exposing The Store's dark secrets, but they soon find themselves in over their heads. The Store is more powerful than they could have imagined, and they must use all their wits to survive.

The story revolves around a Siamese cat that becomes inadvertently involved in a bank robbery when it brings home a wristwatch as a gift to its owners. The watch belongs to a teller who has been kidnapped during the robbery. The cat's owner, an FBI agent, works to use the cat's behaviors to locate the missing woman and solve the crime.

It's a powerful and poignant narrative that sheds light on the lives of African Americans in Atlanta during the early 1980s and delves into the impact of the Atlanta child murders, a tragic series of killings that deeply affected the community.

The story is set in Clanton, Mississippi, and revolves around the trial of a young African American man named Carl Lee Hailey, who is accused of murdering two white men who brutally assaulted his young daughter.

In March 1895, a series of strange murders take place in London's West End theater district. The victims include a theater critic, an actress, and a police surgeon. Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson are called in to investigate.

Set in the marshes of North Carolina in the 1950s and 1960s. It tells the story of Kya Clark, who is abandoned by her family at a young age and raised herself in the marsh. Kya, also known as the "Marsh Girl," is ostracized by the townspeople, but she finds solace in the natural world and in her own resilience.

Jo Becker, a veterinarian and a wife and mother in a seemingly idyllic life. However, her past comes back to haunt her when she encounters an old friend from her former days in a commune.

Lo Blacklock, a travel journalist, is invited on a luxury cruise to see the Northern Lights. While on the cruise, she witnesses a woman being thrown overboard from the cabin next door. However, when she reports the incident to the crew, they deny that there was anyone in that cabin. Lo is determined to find out what happened, but she is met with resistance from the crew and the other passengers. She soon realizes that she is in danger, and that she must uncover the truth before it's too late.

A legal thriller centered around the character Nina Reilly, a Lake Tahoe-based attorney. The story follows Nina as she becomes entangled in a high-stakes legal case involving the murder of her investigator, Paul Van Wagoner. As Nina delves deeper into the case, she discovers a web of corruption, deceit, and dangerous secrets.