Burgess Library: Cold War: Databases

Databases

Type "cold war" slowly. If Cold War, 1945-1991 iappears as an option, choose that as the search.

Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection includes archival and historical films from multiple sources.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
As a student, you'll find JSTOR incredibly helpful for your research and learning. It gives you access to a vast collection of reliable, academic content across many subjects, from history to science. Plus, it provides powerful search tools and a workspace to organize your research, making it easier to find what you need and develop essential research skills.
Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
The largest library in the world, with millions of books, films and video, audio recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
The Library preserves and provides access to a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge to inform, inspire and engage you in your intellectual and creative endeavors.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Provides content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.