Burgess Library: Bigfoot and Other Cryptids: Databases

Databases

Cryptozoology potentially connects to a variety of subject areas. As such, many databases can be used for research in it including those from biology, history, and literature.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. going back as far as 1887.
Gale One File: News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.
Overdrive This link opens in a new window
This platform provides the ability to download eBooks and audiobooks to a computer or a portable device.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.