Burgess Library: Adulting: Cleaning

Tips on Keeping Your Space Clean

EBooks
Databases

Thrifty Household : More Than 1000 Budget-Friendly Hints and Tips for a Clean, Waste-free, Eco-friendly HomeThrifty
Red wine on the carpet? Coffee stain on your white t-shirt? Candlewax on the tablecloth? This book will save you time and money on hundreds of everyday household problems, with advice on everything from unblocking a sink (if you own a tennis ball but not a plunger) to making your oven sparkle without any toxic chemicals.
House of Havoc : How to Make--and Keep--a Beautiful Home Despite Cheap Spouses, Messy Kids, and Other Difficult Roommates
Marni Jameson is here to prove that you can turn a hectic home into a haven and do so without being voted off the island. With chapters such as "Kids are Great:They Only Dismantle Your Home One Piece at a Time,” you’ll laugh as you learn whether to opt for solids or patterns; what constitutes indestructible flooring; how to organize your house from top to bottom; and how to decorate so home appeal goes up and blood pressure goes down. House of Havoc is that indispensable guide for making the most of the house you have without driving everyone around you nuts.
The Clutter Remedy : A Guide to Getting Organized for Those Who Love Their Stuff
Marla walks you through a process of getting to know yourself and your values and then visualizing your ideal lifestyle and optimal surroundings. From that perspective, you'll learn step by step (and room by room) how to create your ideal lifestyle and organize your space to support it.
My House Is Killing Me! : The Home Guide for Families with Allergies and Asth
The book explores how seemingly harmless things like dust mites, mold, and even certain home features like finished basements can contribute to allergies and asthma. The book provides a step-by-step approach for assessing your home environment and offers solutions to reduce allergens and create a healthier living space.

Try typing

cleaning home
house cleaning

in the suggested databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full-text going back as far as 1990.
Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection includes archival and historical films from multiple sources.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module This link opens in a new window
Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. Spanish-language videos are available.