Burgess Library: Adulting: Cooking

Resources to Help You Cook

Good Housekeeping: Air Fryer Cookbook : 70 Delicious Recipes
From America's most trusted test kitchen, easy air fryer recipes and tips for healthier versions of all your favorite fried foods--includes photos. Harnessing the power of circulating hot air, air frying allows you to roast, bake, and enjoy the taste and crunch of fried foods--but without as much oil or grease. Home cooks will find 70 family-friendly healthy recipes for favorite comfort food dishes, including Chicken Caprese, Rye-Crusted Pork Chops with Apple Slaw, Finger Lickin' Fish Tacos, Jalapeño Poppers, and even French fries. Every recipe is triple tested in the Good Housekeeping Test Kitchen for guaranteed success every time.
Chinese Cooking Made Easy : Simple and Delicious Meals in Minutes
Discover how easy it is to create mouthwatering Chinese cuisine in your own kitchen with this easy-to-follow Chinese cookbook. Chinese cooking is easily prepared as most ingredients can be readily purchased from general food stores, supermarkets and even online! Chinese Cooking Made Easy features a selection of 55 delicious Chinese dishes that are easy to prepare at home, and light and healthy too.
The Fruit Book : A delicious and easy-to-follow recipe book
The Fruit Book by Heather Prince is a collection of recipes that focus on using fruits in delicious and easy-to-follow dishes. This book offers recipes for a variety of fruit-based treats, from breakfasts to desserts, and possibly even incorporates fruits into savory dishes.
Halal Home Cooking : Recipes from Malaysia's Kampungs
Halal Home Cooking: Recipes from Malaysia's Kampungs is a cookbook by Chef Ismail Ahmad that features 72 recipes of traditional Malay dishes from the country's kampungs, which are villages. The book offers a chance to explore the rich flavors and cooking techniques used in Malaysian cuisine for generations.
101 Hearty Recipes
"101 Hearty Recipes" includes family-friendly meals, baked goods, and even recipes for gifts. It has sections for quick and easy meals alongside slow-cooked and baked dishes.
Sheet Pan Cooking : 65 Easy Fuss-Free Recipes
Weeknight dinner has just become wonderfully easy. With these scrumptious triple-tested recipes, all you need is one sheet pan to cook foolproof, tasty, and healthy meals. There's something to satisfy everyone in the crowd: enjoy delectable Light Chicken Parm, Fish 'n' Chips, Pepper-Crusted Steak with Roasted Veggies, BBQ Chickpea and Cauliflower Flatbreads with Avocado Mash, and, for a yummy finish, Pumpkin Slab Pie.
Rush-Hour Recipes : Over 230 Quick to Fix Dinner RecipesYour Family Will Love... Even Slow-Cooker Meals and Potluck Dishes!
Challenged to serve up satisfying, budget-friendly meals on busy weeknights? You're in luck...Rush-Hour Recipes is jam-packed with 230 yummy, quick & easy dinner recipes everyone will enjoy. Many dishes can be prepared in 30 minutes or less, using familiar pantry ingredients.
Burger Night : Dinner Solutions for Every Day of the Week
Burger Night is the comprehensive yet easy-to-follow guide to great burgers. There's something to please every burger lover: from meaty to vegetarian, classic to creative and simple to elaborate. More than 60 recipes will inspire you to up your bun game.

Try using the terms when searching in the recommended databases:

cooking
cookbook
recipe

Overdrive This link opens in a new window
This platform provides the ability to download eBooks and audiobooks to a computer or a portable device.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full-text going back as far as 1990.
Culture Grams This link opens in a new window
The aim of CultureGrams has been to foster understanding and appreciation of the world's countries and peoples by creating and publishing concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content.
eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package includes over 160,000 scholarly titles across academic disciplines.
Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

The Food Chain
The Food Chain examines the business, science and cultural significance of food, and what it takes to put food on your plate.

The Food Chain | Podcast on Spotify

Maintenance Phase
Debunking the junk science behind health fads, wellness scams and nonsensical nutrition advice.
The One Recipe
he One Recipe is a pod devoted to that one recipe you keep in your back pocket. The one you send to friends, make for your mom, the one you entirely depend on because you know it’s going to work. We’re here to help you build up an arsenal of fast, simple and crowd-pleasing recipes, one episode at a time.
Gastropod
Food with a side of science and history. Every other week, co-hosts Cynthia Graber and Nicola Twilley serve up a brand new episode exploring the hidden history and surprising science behind a different food- or farming-related topic, from aquaculture to ancient feasts, from cutlery to chile peppers, and from microbes to Malbec.
She's My Cherry Pie
She’s My Cherry Pie is the ultimate podcast for bakers. Each week, baker, author & recipe developer Jessie Sheehan interviews world-class pastry chefs, bakers & culinary creatives and takes a deep dive into their signature baked goods. Tune in as Jessie serves up their favorite tips, techniques, and ingredients.