Burgess Library: Adulting: Homesteading

Garden, Raise Chickens, and Other Self Sufficiency Topics

Backyard Chickens Beyond the Basics : Lessons for Expanding Your Flock, Understanding Chicken Behavior, Keeping a Rooster, Adjusting for the Seasons, Staying Healthy, and More!
A must-have for every backyard chicken keeper, Backyard Chickens Beyond the Basics goes beyond introductory lessons and explores the realities of raising a flock for eggs -- and entertainment, of course! From odd eggs and molting, to feeding and preparing for the seasons, this book covers the subjects beginner books don't adequately address and re-examines common knowledge that may not actually hold true. It's a resource to turn to time and again.
Backyard Homesteader : How to Save Water, Keep Bees, Eat from Your Garden, and Live a More Sustainable Life
Alison Candlin offers easy-to-follow advice on planning, establishing, and maintaining a small-acre farm, an allotment, or a backyard garden. She also includes essential tips for selecting, housing, and looking after chickens, goats, pigs, bees, and other animals. Learn how to collect and recycle water, compost your leftover scraps, and generate renewable energy for your own home in order to save money and minimize your impact on the environment.
Backyard Bees : A Complete Guide for the Beginner Beekeeper or Bee Enthusiast
Author Doug Purdie offers friendly, expert advice on keeping happy, healthy bees and harvesting the liquid gold, including tips on choosing a hive and equipment, and an all-new chapter on the Flow Hive, the innovative beehive design that has taken beekeeping by storm. You'll also find case studies and anecdotes from beekeepers from all walks of life, and 20 delicious recipes for all that honey, from Toasted Honey Granola to Bees Knees Cocktails. Not ready to keep bees? This edition also includes new chapters on supporting your local bee population without a hive, with tips for planting bee-friendly gardens and creating habitats and homes for solitary bees.
Projects for Self-Sufficiency
Build a self-sufficient life with these 60+ photo-illustrated projects for growing and preserving your own food, keeping animals, harnessing alternative energy, and more. Learning to do more things yourself is healthy, rewarding, and fulfilling, and benefits the environment. Whether you live in the suburbs or have 80 acres in the mountains, Step-by-step Projects for Self Sufficiency guides your way with clear plan drawings, precise instructions, and detailed photos.
Urban Gardens for Dummies
Urban Gardening For Dummies helps you make the most of limited space through the use of proven small-space gardening techniques that allow gardeners to maximize yield while minimizing space. Covers square-foot gardening and vertical and layered gardening. Includes guidance on working with container gardening, succession gardening, and companion gardening. This book offers guidance on pest management, irrigation and rain barrels, and small-space composting.

Try searching for

homesteading
chickens
bees
raising chickens (or raising bees)
gardening
self sufficiency

in the suggested databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. going back as far as 1887.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. In addition to covering all areas of health and wellness, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
Gale One File: News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives

The Urban Farm Podcast
Welcome to The Urban Farm Podcast, your partner in the Grow Your Own Food revolution! We invited special guests and discuss the art and value of growing food in urban areas. We'll explore topics such as gardening basics, urban beekeeping and chicken farming, permaculture, successful composting, monetizing your farm, and much more!
Pioneering Today
Want to get back to the basics of raising your own food, cooking from scratch, and preserving the harvest? Join 5th generation homesteader, Melissa K. Norris, on the Pioneering Today Podcast where we share how to raise, cook and preserve your own food with old-fashioned skill sets and wisdom for a more natural and self-sufficient home, with, or without, the homestead.
Pantry Chat
It doesn’t matter if you’re in the city or the country, if you’ve ever wanted to explore the homesteading life, this is your chance to learn how to do it in less time with fewer bumps in the road.
Coffee with the Chicken Ladies
Coffee with the Chicken Ladies covers all things pet chicken. Each episode includes a breed spotlight and relevant chicken keeping topics, as well as reviews of books and products, amazing recipes using home fresh eggs, interviews, and occasional chicken-themed celebrations
Joe Gardener Show
The joe gardener Show is a podcast all about learning to be a better, smarter gardener and is hosted by national gardening expert and Emmy-Award winning PBS television host, Joe Lamp'l. Interviews include the leading authorities in their specialty with an emphasis on organic gardening, vegetable gardening, and creating a wildlife-friendly habitat.