Burgess Library: Adulting: Health and Wellness

Resources

Books about healthy eating habits, exercise routines (physcial fitness), preventative healthcare, and mental health.

Healthy Eating

The Intuitive Eating Workbook : Ten Principles for Nourishing a Healthy Relationship with Food
Do you use food to comfort yourself during stressful times? The Intuitive Eating Workbook offers a comprehensive, evidence-based program to help you develop a healthy relationship with food, pay attention to cues of hunger and satisfaction, and cultivate a profound connection with your mind and body.
Eating Mindfully : How to End Mindless Eating and Enjoy a Balanced Relationship with Food
"Eating Mindfully" by Susan Albers argues that restrictive diets don't foster a healthy relationship with food. Instead, the book emphasizes mindful eating, a practice based on mindfulness and self-compassion. By quieting the mind and listening to your body's hunger cues, you can learn to appreciate food and eat intuitively. The book offers exercises and meditations to cultivate this awareness and develop a balanced approach to eating.
The Real Food Grocery Guide
Learn how to understand food labels and cut through the myths, hype, and misleading information on "healthy" food choices in order to make the best choices.The Real Food Grocery Guide helps you navigate every aisle of the grocery store by clearly outlining what foods are truly the healthiest, the freshest, and the most economical--and which ones belong in the garbage rather than your grocery cart.

Exercise

The Complete Guide to Bodyweight Training
he Complete Guide to Bodyweight Training by Kesh Patel is a comprehensive guide to bodyweight exercises. It explores the history and theory of bodyweight training, along with explaining the benefits of this type of exercise. The book also includes instructions on a variety of bodyweight exercises, as well as nutritional advice to help you reach your fitness goals. This book is a great resource for anyone who wants to learn more about bodyweight training and how to get started with this effective and convenient form of exercise.
Working Out Sucks! (And Why It Doesn't Have To) : The Only 21-Day Kick-Start Plan for Total Health and Fitness You'll Ever Need
Tired of diet books that promise to change your life in five minutes? Tired of trying to get healthy and fitand really getting nowhere? Chuck Runyon, Brian Zehetner, and Rebecca DeRossett are here to confirm what you already know: Working out sucks. The good news? With the new approaches in this book, that is about to change. Working Out Sucks! deprograms those of us who have long been brainwashed by unhealthy habits, destructive attitudes, and misinformation about health, and offers a no-nonsense way to get back on track.
Walking : The Complete Book
Walking: The Complete Book by Jeff Galloway is a resource for people of all fitness levels who want to incorporate walking into their lives. The book offers guidance on getting started with a walking program, proper walking technique, creating a routine, and setting goals. Galloway even includes tips for training for a marathon walk. With its motivational approach, the book aims to make walking an enjoyable and effective way to improve your health.

Emotional and Mental Health

Practical Zen for Health, Wealth and Mindfulness
Zen master Julian Daizan Skinner presents simple, accessible meditation practices from the Rinzai Zen tradition to enable readers to work towards health, wellbeing and success in their everyday lives., and explains how to achieve change.
Instant Anger Management : Quick and Simple CBT Strategies to Defuse Anger on the Spot
you struggle with problem anger, you know how much it can hurt your relationships and get in the way of your happiness. When you're faced with a difficult situation or anger trigger, it's all too easy to get swept up in your emotions. That's why you need quick and immediate tools you can use in the moment--whenever anger takes hold. Based in proven-effective cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), Instant Anger Management is a take-anywhere guide for managing anger--whenever and wherever you are.
Motivate Yourself : Get the Life You Want, Find Purpose and Achieve Fulfilment
Motivate Yourself offers practical strategies to improve your productivity and gives you the know how to create the life you want. Learn how to move past your self-doubt and propel yourself into living your dream. With practical exercises featured within each chapter, this book will help break those emotional barriers that hold you back and set you on the path to becoming fully engaged and more productive.
How to Heal After Heartbreak : How to Recover from a Breakup and Get Your Hopes and Dreams Back
"How to Heal After Heartbreak" acknowledges the pain of breakups and offers guidance on navigating the emotional rollercoaster. It equips you to understand the common stages of heartbreak, from denial to acceptance. The book provides strategies for dealing with difficult emotions and teaches you to avoid dwelling on the past. Ultimately, it aims to empower you to heal, learn from the experience, and move forward with renewed hope and a brighter future.

Search for:

healthy eating
exercise
physcial fitness
mental health
wellness

Films on Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection includes archival and historical films from multiple sources.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full-text going back as far as 1990.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. In addition to covering all areas of health and wellness, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
Mental Health and Wellbeing This link opens in a new window
Mental Health and Wellbeing Ebook Subscription brings the latest, most relevant psychology research and mental health ebooks in one place and helps promote patron wellbeing and self-care skills. Over 4,800 titles covering key topics related to the study of psychology (Social Psychology, Clinical Psychology, Psychotherapy, Neuropsychology) and student wellbeing (Stress Management, Meditation, Emotions, Personal Growth are available through this database.
Overdrive This link opens in a new window
This platform provides the ability to download eBooks and audiobooks to a computer or a portable device.

We Can Do Hard Things
On We Can Do Hard Things, Glennon Doyle, her wife Abby Wambach, and her sister Amanda Doyle do the only thing they’ve found that has ever made life easier: Drop the fake and talk honestly about the hard things including sex, gender, parenting, blended families, bodies, anxiety, addiction, justice, boundaries, fun, quitting, overwhelm . . . all of it.

We laugh and cry and help each other carry the hard so we can all live a little bit lighter and braver, free-er, less alone.
Feel Better, Live More
In this podcast, we hear stories from leading health experts and exciting personalities who offer easy health life-hacks, expert advice and debunk common health myths giving you the tools to revolutionise how you eat, sleep, move and relax.
Sound Bites: A Nutrition Podcast
Join Melissa’s conversations with a variety of experts on topics ranging from fad diets to farming and gain credible information to help you make your own, well-informed food decisions based on facts, not fear.
Mind Pump
MindPump exposes the RAW TRUTH about health, fitness, nutrition and more... Hosts Sal Di Stefano, Adam Schafer & Justin Andrews pull back the curtain on the mythology, snake oil and pseudo-science that pervades the fitness industry and present science-backed solutions that result in increased muscular development and performance while simultaneously emphasizing health.
All Black Men Need Therapy
Chief, Bell and Prentice unpack past and present issues that affect black men's mental health and well-being. These brothers engage in honest, vulnerable dialogue surrounding the complexities of life as black men. They are committed to helping black men self-assess and grow more comfortable having difficult conversations while encouraging them to strive daily to become the best version of themselves.
Therapy for Black Girls
The Therapy for Black Girls podcast is a weekly conversation with Dr. Joy Harden Bradford, a licensed psychologist in Atlanta, Georgia, about all things mental health, personal development, and all the small decisions we can make to become the best possible version of ourselves.
The Happiness Lab
Dr. Laurie Santos has studied the science of happiness and found that many of us do the exact opposite of what will truly make our lives better. Laurie will take you through the latest scientific research and share some surprising and inspiring stories that will change the way you think about happiness.