To find books and ebooks about teaching:
use terms like "how to teach students"
try using a level (example: middle school)
describe the position (physical education; guidance counselor; fifth grade math)
There is no shortage of urgent, complex problems that mathematics education can and should engage with. Pandemics, forest fires, pollution, Black Lives Matter protests, and fake news all involve mathematics, are matters of life and death, have a clear political dimension, and are interdisciplinary in nature. They demand a critical approach. This book demonstrates that there is plenty to be done with critical mathematics education.
Mark Freeman's work on "Outdoor Education in Historical Perspective" explores how outdoor learning has changed over time. He highlights important ideas like how it spread between different cultures, the unique meaning of outdoor places, the role of spiritual beliefs, and how these experiences helped shape people's character. Freeman argues for a deeper understanding of outdoor education's past, looking at its many forms and purposes, such as how groups like Outward Bound evolved from religious beginnings to focus more on personal growth.
Students often think of science as disconnected pieces of information rather than a narrative that challenges their thinking, requires them to develop evidence-based explanations for the phenomena under investigation, and communicate their ideas in discipline-specific language as to why certain solutions to a problem work. The author provides teachers in primary and junior secondary school with different evidence-based strategies they can use to teach inquiry science in their classrooms.
Maker education (an instructional approach that emphasizes hands-on learning) empowers students to become passionate, creative thinkers. In Remaking Literacy, author Jacie Maslyk details how to transform literacy teaching and learning by integrating maker projects for elementary classrooms. Rely on the book's tools and strategies to help you construct innovative opportunities for students to boost comprehension, increase vocabulary knowledge, and improve writing skills.
This research-based, easy-to-use resource includes all the tools needed to create a successful Writer's Workshop and enhance student writing. Teachers will learn classroom-tested techniques and engaging instructional approaches to support all levels of writers. Grades K-8
Sometimes Reading is Hard shows teachers how to develop the skills students need to be successful and how to cultivate passionate, lifelong readers. Classroom vignettes, promising practices, and step-by-step activities illustrate how teachers can weave teaching the skills of reading, decoding, vocabulary, comprehension, and fluency with real reasons to read. When students want to read and they enjoy it, their reading skills improve. With the right motivation, any student can become an enthusiastic reader.
Early Elementary Children Moving & Learning provides more than 100 developmentally appropriate activities that contribute to a well-rounded curriculum in any classroom or program. The book contains. More than 100 activities that fall under five categories: openers and closers, basic movement, cooperative activities, educational gymnastics, and rhythm and dance Extension ideas and adaptations to use with children who have special needs.
This book focuses on motor and social skills development for young children with autism spectrum disorder and is geared toward special education teachers, general education teachers, and related personnel. This book will outline what we now know about how physical activity impacts children with Autism and how classroom teachers can use physical activity programs in their classrooms.
Discover how to motivate students in the classroom, using the elements of EMPOWER--exploration, motivation, participation, openness, willingness, empathy, and resilience. Make school a positive, meaningful experience in your students' lives and cultivate intrinsic motivation. This highly practical resource offers enjoyable, engaging classroom activities, as well as strategies for refining teaching practices, incorporating student values into course content, fostering the development of soft skills, and deeply connecting with learners
In order to facilitate the use of science fiction films as learning tools, teachers of history need a dependable resource. Teaching History with Science Fiction Films is a guide for teaching U.S. and world history. In addition to covering key themes and concepts, the volume provides * an era-by-era overview of significant issues and related films, * a tutorial in using film in historical methodology, * user guides for 10 key science fiction films, and * sample exercises and assignments for direct classroom use.
Mark Onuscheck's book, "The New Art and Science of Teaching Art and Music," offers practical strategies for art and music teachers. Based on Robert J. Marzano's teaching framework, it outlines ways to help students with artistic expression, creative growth, and critical thinking. The book covers topics like setting clear learning goals, using assessments, direct instruction, and keeping students engaged, all specifically tailored for art and music classrooms.
This practical resource for secondary school librarians offers guidance for collaborating with teachers and students to develop inquiry-based research projects. With success stories from librarians all over the U.S. illustrating how they've guided teachers and students through the research process, this book provides strategies for using memorable events to activate students' natural curiosity and activities for generating essential questions for exploration.
This book takes a strategic approach to the leadership of school libraries and will inspire and enable school librarians to think creatively about their work and the community in which they operate. The Innovative School Librarian raises important questions about the functions of the school librarian and sets out to encourage the reader to re-examine their own professional values, assumptions and practices.
A lively read from a working teacher offers practical engagement strategies for students with attention challenges. If learning is a motor, student engagement is the key. But when teaching students with ADHD and other attention challenges, sometimes even the most finely tuned classroom can sputter. Teach for Attention! is your tool belt of teaching strategies for students with ADHD, low self-confidence, distraction, and other attention challenges.
Yes--we can have our cake and eat it too. We can improve students' reading and writing performance without sacrificing authenticity. In Read, Talk, Write, Laura Robb shows us how. First, she makes sure students know the basics of six types of talk. Next, she shares 35 lessons that support rich conversation. Finally, she includes new pieces by Seymour Simon, Kathleen Krull, and others so you have texts to use right away. Read, Talk, Write it's a process your students not only can do, but one they will love to do.
Marilee Sprenger's "How to Teach So Students Remember" offers teachers practical ways to help students truly recall what they learn, not just for a test, but for long-term use. The book provides a clear, research-based framework with seven steps to improve memory. These steps cover everything from getting students' attention and encouraging them to think deeply about new information, to helping them put concepts into their own words, using feedback effectively, and practicing new knowledge in different ways. The ultimate goal is to make learning "sticky" so students can easily find and use information whenever they need it, building confidence and success.
