Burgess Library: Education 101: FIND OTHER MATERIALS

FINDING ARTICLES

Finding Articles

How and where do I find scholarly articles? The best way to find appropriate articles for your assignments is by searching the library's online databases. The databases include articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. You can limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly journals within each database.

Select the ARTICLES tab on the homepage then click on the Databases A-Z link to be taken to the databases guide. You can then search multiple EBSCO or GALE databases by using the search boxes on the main tab, or you can select a single database by clicking on the specific name of the database you want to search.

Instructions for off campus access are included within the Databases A-Z guide.

*Off campus access: to access the Library's online Databases you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC. For the username, you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15).

Academic Search Complete

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. going back as far as 1887.
Education Full Text

Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Educator's Reference Complete

Provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)

Provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Gale Power Search

A search engine that allows single searching of multiple Gale databases including Academic OneFile, InfoTrac Newsstand, Global Issues in Context, Educator's Reference Complete, Health Reference Center Academic, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, US & World History in Context, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Interlibrary Loan

Need something that is not available in our library or through PASCAL? Try interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Off Campus Access

For any electronic resources listed within the Library's Catalog, you'll be prompted to enter your username (last name) and library card number/barcode (# found on the back of student ID).

To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC. For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15).
Online (distance education) students may request Print books they find in the SMC Library Catalog. These books will be mailed to the student's address free of charge (return postage will be included).
Online (distance education) students may also use PASCAL Delivers (learn more under the Requesting Materials tab).

If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:

Phone: 864-587-4208

Email: smclibrary@smcsc.edu

National Education Association
It focuses on advancing public education and provides resources, news, and opportunities to get involved in advocating for student success, educator rights, and professional excellence. The site covers topics like education policy, workplace conditions, social justice, and professional development.
American Federation of Teachers
The AFT champions fairness, democracy, economic opportunity, and high-quality public education, healthcare, and public services. They work to achieve these goals through community engagement, organizing, collective bargaining, and political activism, representing members from pre-K through 12th-grade teachers, school staff, higher education faculty, government employees, and nurses.
The Council for Exceptional Children
CEC advocates for appropriate governmental policies, sets professional standards, provides professional development, and helps professionals obtain conditions and resources necessary for effective professional practice. CEC is known as THE source for information, resources, and professional development for special educators.
National Council of Teachers of English
The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics advocates for high-quality mathematics teaching and learning for each and every student.
National Council for the Social Studies
National Council for the Social Studies is the largest professional association in the country devoted solely to social studies education. NCSS engages and supports educators in strengthening and advocating social studies.
National Science Teaching Association
This organization offers a wide range of resources for science and STEM education, including instructional materials, journals, news, and job listings. It also provides information on conferences, professional learning, membership, science standards, awards, and networking opportunities for science teachers.
American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance
This organization aims to ensure all children are prepared to lead healthy, physically active lives. The website provides resources, support, and a community for health and physical education professionals, including information on membership, career opportunities, publications, and events related to the field.
Music Teachers National Association
MTNA membership does more than simply complement your career as a music professional—it supports, supplements and shapes it. It empowers music teachers nationwide to become better educators through networking, leadership, mentoring and educational opportunities.