Library Hours
The SMC Library has a combination of resources to help you with your research, including print materials, eBooks, and online databases.
How and where do I find scholarly articles? The best way to find appropriate articles for your assignments is by searching the library's online databases. The databases include articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. You can limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly journals within each database.
Select the ARTICLES tab on the homepage then click on the Databases A-Z link to be taken to the databases guide. You can then search multiple EBSCO or GALE databases by using the search boxes on the main tab, or you can select a single database by clicking on the specific name of the database you want to search.
Instructions for off campus access are included within the Databases A-Z guide.
The Library provides access to over 80 online research databases. Using the databases provided by the library will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.
The following are suggested databases for Criminal Justice. Visit our Databases A-Z Guide for a full list of databases.
*Off campus access: to access the Library's online Databases you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC. For the username, you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15).
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. going back as far as 1887.
A search engine that allows single searching of multiple Gale databases including Academic OneFile, InfoTrac Newsstand, Global Issues in Context, Educator's Reference Complete, Health Reference Center Academic, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, US & World History in Context, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
The Modern Language Association's comprehensive index of scholarly journals and series in literature, languages, and folklore. Covers 1920s to the present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. The database features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. Provides content from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Need something that is not available in our library? Try interlibrary Loan (ILL).
1. What are reserves? Course Reserves are books, articles, and other items placed at the library by a faculty member for class use. They are located at the front desk.
2. What kinds of items are on reserve?
3. What are the reserves circulation policies?
4. Can reserve materials be copied or scanned?
Students may copy reserve materials (in accordance with *Copyright Law) at a cost of 10 cents per page. Scanning materials to a USB drive is free.
*Under Title 17 of the United States Code, it is illegal to reproduce, distribute, or publicly display any copyrighted work (or any substantial portion thereof) without the permission of the copyright owner. Exceptions can be made under fair use guidelines, but the patron, not the Library, is responsible for any violations.
1. To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC. For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd19).
2. For any electronic resources listed within the ONE SEARCH, you'll be prompted to enter your full SMC email address and password.
3. Online (distance education) students may request Print books (owned by SMC) found in ONE SEARCH. These books will be mailed to the student's address free of charge (return postage will be included). Please contact us for assistance.
4. Online (distance education) students may also use PASCAL Delivers (learn more under Student Services).
If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:
Phone: 864-587-4208
Email: smclibrary@smcsc.edu
