Skip to Main Content

ENG 102

FINDING ARTICLES

 

Sources of literary criticism can be found in the library databases, including:

Critical Essays
  • Written by literary scholars
  • Evaluates and critiques an aspect of a literary work
  • Another purpose is to offer an opinion on some aspect of the literary work or author
  • Refers to a small number of secondary sources
Articles from scholarly journals
  • Written by literary scholars to highlight their current thoughts and research on an author, author's work, or authors body of work
  • May also evaluate and/or critique an aspect of a literary work
  • Another purpose is to offer an opinion on some aspect of the literary work or author
  • Refers to a larg(er) amount of secondary sources, in comparison to a critical essay
In general, you should NOT USE:
  • book reviews (purpose is to review quality of the book, not to critique or analyze an author's work
  • magazine articles (purpose is to provide non-scholarly, non-academic information related or only somewhat related to the book)

 

Getting Started

The SMC Library has a combination of resources to help you with your research, including print materials, eBooks, and online databases. 

Finding Articles

How and where do I find scholarly articles?  The best way to find appropriate articles for your assignments is by searching the library's online databases.  The databases include articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. You can limit your search to full-text and/or scholarly journals within each database.

Select the ARTICLES tab on the homepage then click on the Databases A-Z link to be taken to the databases guide.  You can then search multiple EBSCO or GALE databases by using the search boxes on the main tab, or you can select a single database by clicking on the specific name of the database you want to search.  

Instructions for off campus access are included within the Databases A-Z guide.

The Library provides access to over 80 online research databases.  Using the databases provided by the library will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.  

The following are suggested databases for Criminal Justice.  Visit our Databases A-Z Guide for a full list of databases.

*Off campus access:  to access the Library's online Databases you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username, you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example:  smithjd15).

Interlibrary Loan

Need something that is not available in our library?  Try interlibrary Loan (ILL).

 

Reserves 

1. What are reserves?  Course Reserves are books, articles, and other items placed at the library by a faculty member for class use. They are located at the front desk. 

2. What kinds of items are on reserve?

  • books from the general collection
  • videos from the general collection
  • textbooks 
  • faculty member’s personal copies of materials
  • photocopies (i.e. book chapters, articles, practice tests)

3. What are the reserves circulation policies?

  • Reserve materials, including videos, must be used in the library.
  • Reserve materials can be checked out for up to 3 hours.
  • Students must have their student ID to borrow reserve materials.
  • Students may borrow only one reserve item at a time. 

4. Can reserve materials be copied or scanned?

Students may copy reserve materials (in accordance with *Copyright Law) at a cost of 10 cents per page. Scanning materials to a USB drive is free.

*Under Title 17 of the United States Code, it is illegal to reproduce, distribute, or publicly display any copyrighted work (or any substantial portion thereof) without the permission of the copyright owner. Exceptions can be made under fair use guidelines, but the patron, not the Library, is responsible for any violations. 

 

Off Campus Access

  • For any electronic resources listed within the Library's Catalog, you'll be prompted to enter your username (last name) and library card number/barcode (# found on the back of student ID).
  • To access individual Online Research Databases or e-Book Collections, you'll be prompted to enter your SMC username and password.  This is the same username and password you use to access SMC email or to login to computers at SMC.  For the username you only need to enter the first part of the email address (example: smithjd15). 
  • Online (distance education) students may request Print books they find in the SMC Library Catalog.  These books will be mailed to the student's address free of charge (return postage will be included). 
  • Online (distance education) students may also use PASCAL Delivers (learn more under the Requesting Materials tab).

 

If you need help with off campus access, please contact us:

Phone:  864-587-4208

Email:  smclibrary@smcsc.edu

 

 

 

Celebration of Women Writers

Full text content of hundreds of books by women writers throughout history. Includes novels, poems, letters, and biographies.  Browse or search by author name. Some books are in foreign languages. By Mary Mark, Univ. of Pennsylvania.
 
Emily Dickinson Archive
Emily Dickinson Archive makes high-resolution images of Dickinson’s surviving manuscripts available in open access, and provides readers with a website through which they can view images of manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives.
 

The Etext Center - University of Virginia Library Digital Curation Services

Etext Center at the University of Virginia Library fostered innovation through technology and set an early precedent for the creation and use of digital materials by scholars in the humanities. Goal: to build and maintain an Internet- accessible collection of documents central to teaching and research in the humanities, and to nurture a user community adept at the creation and scholarly use of these materials. More than 10,000 historic literary texts and interpretations online.
 

First World War Poetry Digital Archive

The First World War Poetry Digital Archive is an online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research. Source: University of Oxford.
 

Folktexts

A library of folktales, folklore, fairy tales, and mythology in full-text. Edited and/or translated by D. L. Ashliman University of Pittsburgh.
 

Geoffrey Chaucer Website

This site provides materials for Harvard University's Chaucer classes in the Core Program, the English Department, and the Division of Continuing Education. Includes analysis of Canterbury Tales and use of Middle English.
 

Humanities Text Initiative - American Verse Project

American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. The full text of each volume of poetry is being converted into digital form.
 

ipl2 Literary Criticism

The ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period. Search by author, title or literary period. ipl2 site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and a consortium of colleges and universities.
 

Ibero-American Electronic Text Series

The Ibero-American Electronic Text Series is a project developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the humanities. University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center.
 

Literary Criticism on the Internet

Covers criticism of works from the 19th and 20th centuries. LiteraryHistory.com chosen by the New York Public Library as one of 25 "Best of Reference 2003."
 

Modern American Poetry Site - UIUC

Extraordinary in its depth and breadth, and a one-of-a-kind resource for teaching modern American poetry, MAPS provides a single clearinghouse for some of the best criticism on the best poets of our time. MAPS has grown over the past decade to more than 30,000 pages of biographies, critical essays, syllabi and images relating to 161 poets. Source: Department of English, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
 

Modern English Collection - Etext Center

This heterogeneous collection contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest. Digital Scholarship Services, University of Virginia Library
 

Poetry Archive

Poetry Archive aims to bring the widest possible audience to the fullest possible range of English-language poetry being published around the world, and to complement that poetry with educational material of value both to the specialist and to the general reader. Includes poetry for children.
 

Purdue OWL: Literary Theory and Schools of Criticism

This resource will help you begin the process of understanding literary theory and schools of criticism and how they are used in the academy.
 

Representative Poetry Online

Representative Poetry Online includes 4,700 English poems by 723 poets from Caedmon, in the Old English period, to the work of living poets today. It is based on Representative Poetry, established by Professor W. J. Alexander of University College, University of Toronto. Includes full-text of poems and poet biographies.
 

Romantic Circles

Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. It is published by the University of Maryland and others.
 

Shakespeare Online

Amanda Mabillard, is a freelance writer specializing in Shakespeare, Renaissance political theory, theatre history, comparative literary history. She launched Shakespeare Online with hopes of providing free, original, and accurate information on Shakespeare to students, teachers, and Shakespeare enthusiasts. Merriam-Webster online newsletter (April 2011), affirmed that Shakespeare Online "leads to a wealth of information on the man, his world, and his works."
 

Shakespeare Resource Center

Shakespeare Resource Center. You'll find here collected links from all over the World Wide Web to help you find information on William Shakespeare. Includes information about Shakespeare's language and interpretation of his works.
 

Victorian Women Writers Project

Victorian Women Writers Project began at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
 

Voices From the Gaps

Celebrating and documenting the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women, VG is one of the internet's most comprehensive and well-respected academic databases for women artists of color. We provide innovative teaching and research tools for accessing a global community of women writers of color living and dead, obscure and renowned. Source: University of Minnesota.
 

Walt Whitman Archive

Walt Whitman Archive, edited by Ed Folsom and Kenneth M. Price, is published by the Center for Digital Research in the Humanities at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. Includes images of some of his manuscripts.
 

Wright American Fiction (1851-1875)

This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors. This fiction collection is searchable by title and author. Hosted by the Indiana University Digital Library Program.
 
Many thanks to the U. Grant Miller Library for the information contained on this page.